Fitness, Ketogenic, Parenting

Why the Phrase “Eating For Two” Is Not Only A Load of Crap, But Really Unhelpful

Even though I have been dabbling with a keto diet for the last 5 months, this week has been stuffed with new things. New recipes, new approaches to cooking, new cold fighting techniques, and a couple lessons learned.

But first, I would like to respond to a phrase I have heard probably 50 times throughout this pregnancy; and I certainly heard it during my first. I have heard it from family, best friends, good friends, acquaintances, and strangers (usually servers in restaurants). It is some version of “it’s ok, you’re eating for two now!” I am pretty sure it is always said with good intentions, although I am sure many pregnant women have heard it from those smugly making reference to the amount of weight their target has gained while pregnant.

Not only is this comment basically not true, I mean, when your baby is the size of a kidney bean I’m pretty sure it doesn’t need you to consume that extra piece of pizza for it’s sole nutritional benefit, but it’s actually like giving a hormonal and sometimes very emotionally hungry woman the excuse she’s been trying so hard to fight against. I have been very conscious about what I am eating this whole pregnancy. I have worked very hard to not gain a repeated 90lbs with this pregnancy. But there have been times where sitting across the table with you I am desperately wanting to join you in demolishing the appetizers with you while sneaking a peak at the dessert menu, but also trying desperately hard to exercise the small amount of self control I still posses. But when the excuse is made for me, when you kindly let me know you aren’t judging me for having the extra whatever or last piece of, you’re actually making my decision way way harder. I think I read somewhere that in your first trimester you need an extra 100 calories, that’s an apple, and by your third tri, an extra 300, so, an apple and a few soda crackers at night to help with the heartburn.

It is true that women need to give themselves a break now and then while pregnant. But if that woman has valid health concerns, taking it easy on herself could just as easily look like telling her significant other that she is taking a bath and they are taking care of dinner and simply jumping in the tub without waiting for a “yes dear”.

Now, onto the rest of my first week of my year long challenge!

Since physical exercise is pretty much out for me at this stage of the pregnancy (I get to experience lovely spd or early loosening of my hips which make even walking a decent distance taxing and later quiet painful), I am focusing 100% on my nutrition. I am proud to say it has been 7 days without any grains, which I should add also includes potatoes (even the sweet ones), and no sugar, processed or from fruit. And the results, pretty awesome!!

I am down 6 pounds, and feel amazing. I find it very interesting that I am not only happier in general, but that even though I am physically unable to go running, the desire is there. Which, being a non natural run lover is pretty cool. I feel like I have so much energy that I put hip hop music on while doing the dishes and even consider walking my son to the park four blocks away rather than driving!

This week we ate ridiculously yummy meals like bacon wrapped scallops, pizza, burritos, spaghetti squash, pizza muffins, and avocado brownies. My breakfasts consist of either bacon and eggs cooked in the bacon grease, or my own version of bullet proof coffee: coffee, coconut oil and coffee cream. Many of these recipes were new, and all of them seemed to top the last. I am so stoked that I have found easy pizza crust and burrito shell recipes as those are two of my favourite meals! The avocado brownies have been destroyed by my husband and I with my son having a measly one a day lol and right now I have a gingerbread latte concoction in the slow cooker I am stoked to try.

IMG_1465.JPG

IMG_1495.JPG

IMG_1471.JPG

IMG_1480.JPG

I am learning to let my son help me in the kitchen, even though he is slow, and stirs contents of bowls all over the counter. But now, his favourite place to be is in the kitchen with me dumping ingredients into bowls and helping me mix.

IMG_1493.JPG

C of course got a cold about a day into this challenge. The last thing I wanted was to get sick myself, or for it to turn into a bad cold for him. He has been using probiotics for the last month now, but I upped his amount, and quickly made my way to Planet Organic. I bought myself some probiotics, and an essential oil mix. I put the oil on my and C’s feet in the mornings, and in C’s humidifier at night and nap/quiet time. So far I haven’t caught the cold! And C didn’t get anything worse than a very slightly runny nose. I’m not saying this worked 100%, but I am certainly going to bust it out at the first sign of the next cold!

IMG_1494.JPG

To leave you with a few no-no’ I learned this week:

1) don’t light a vanilla brown sugar candle within the first few days of cutting out sugar, you will want to eat it or quit the whole thing and go demolish a whole box of cookies, in the van on the way home from the store, and

2) don’t buy your child fries to satisfy them on the way home and use the air conditioning vent to cool them down. Your whole van will smell like delicious French fries and you will want to pull a highly illegal u turn to get back into whatever fast food lane they came from!

All in all, an awesome first week 🙂

IMG_1490.JPG

Standard

Leave a Reply

