Challenge, Fitness, High fat, Ketogenic, LCHF, Low carb, Parenting, Uncategorized

I I I, I workout!!! (Love Me Some LMFAO)

This past week has had no crazy new situations to deal with. No major cravings, no mental funks, no obstacles to overcome. At least in regards to the nutrition side of things.  It was however, my first real week of training for my half marathon. 

I did manage to get one run in, it was a beautiful day and I could have even stripped down to a tank top to run it. 



My pelvis did actually hurt, like it did at the end of my pregnancy. But I remember that happening during and after carrying C, so hopefully I can just work on tightening up my pelvic floor and that pain will lessen with time. It’s both a positive and negative I guess then that the snow came back the day after this run. My following three workouts ended up on my bike, which is sad to not be running, but probably good for my pelvis’ sake. 

I recieved a very thoughtful iTunes gift card for Christmas. A bunch of it went to buying two of the Game of Thrones books to read while I was spending so much time doing night feeds with A! But I also bought a bunch of new running tunes! I LOVE working out with pumping music. Even at the end of a workout, if a great beat comes on it can pull that last extra push right out of me! One of the tracks I downloaded was Titanium (feat. Sia) by David Guetta. You’ll know the song if you’re female, or have watched Pitch Perfect 🙂 



I actually enjoy this picture, as it so perfectly captures what my fitness journey looks like right now! I’m workin out, at home, surrounded by evidence of my kiddos 🙂 my three bike rides  looked a little different from each other. The first I was super pumped up and rode hard straight through listening to my tunes, the second I did more of an interval ride, and the third which was the longest at 12.8km I did while watching a movie with the hubby, so a slower steadier pace. Hopefully this week I’ll be able to get out for at least one actual run 🙂 I found my old Yak Tracks in my parents basement while I was going through some stuff, so now I can’t really use snow as an excuse!

On a different front, I got one leg and back workout in at the end of the week. My husband took his power block weights and barbell/weights out to Canmore with him last spring and left them in the hotel gym! Well, some buddies were back there working and he asked if they’d try to pick them up for him and thankfully they did, and the hotel had moved his stuff into storage! If I had been an employee there and saw that stuff lying around unclaimed for almost a year I’m pretty sure I would have taken it haha. SO! That means my weight lifting workouts can be much more well rounded now and I can thoroughly hit each muscle group!! 



Excited! Now I’ll be able to see some steady growth 🙂

So for my workout, back and legs I did:

Leg press: 4 sets of 6-8 reps (unfortunately these weights on the home gym aren’t labelled so I don’t actually know how many lbs) as heavy as I was able to max out at 8 to begin with and 6 to finish, 6 plates

Leg extensions: 4 sets of 6-8 reps, 3 plates

Squats: with barbell at 45lbs 4 sets 15 reps (which I recognize is waaay too high a number of reps, but I didn’t feel like racking more weight haha, lazy)

Dumbbell rows: 4 sets 8 reps 35 lbs

Lat pull down: 4sets 6-8 reps 3 plates

Barbell dead lifts:  4 sets 8 reps 75lbs

This was my first legs/back workout in a while, so other than the leg press (I was curious about what I could get of this new home gym) I took it pretty easy. Didn’t want to be so sore I couldn’t move the next day. But two days of weight lifting is still such a small amount to do a good full body workout! Even though I might be tired, I’m going to try to stick to my old routine of three days a week Push/Pull/Legs&Abs Push: chest, triceps, shoulders. Pull: back, biceps.  

On the food side of things, before I forget, I made cauliflower rice for the first time. Made myself a bowl of Creamy Mexican Chicken on top of the “rice” and my son devoured it!! He asked for two more helpings of rice lol Just goes to remind me that just because I didn’t like something as a kid does not mean my kids won’t. I should at least let them try! 



Standard

One thought on “I I I, I workout!!! (Love Me Some LMFAO)

Leave a Reply

